the might of write

Arc Magazine Contest Deadline and a Reading

By Eric Hill • Aug 31st, 2009 • Category: Contests, Happenings, In Brief

Arc: Canada’s National Poetry Magazine is proud to announce two great literary events celebrating poetry in the Ottawa capitol region: the Diana Brebner Prize and The Lampman-Scott Award Reading.

Firstly, emerging poets will be pleased to know we are now accepting submissions for the Diana Brebner Prize.

Diana Brebner Prize Deadline October 1, 2009.
The award-winning, Ottawa-based poet, Diana Brebner never understood poets who hoarded their ideas, or were afraid to share their insights with the less experienced. She always wished she’d had a mentor. There were aspects of her craft she felt she might have learned more quickly with guidance. As a working mother of two young daughters, and a poet struggling with breast cancer, she must have been acutely aware of time.
In the role of mentor, Diana was both a mother and a unrelenting task-master. She was a strong believer in details - indeed every aspect of submission was scrutinized down to the handwriting on the SASE. The significance of intention behind every action whether writing a poem or drinking a cup of tea was of the utmost importance to her. Diana would have strongly approved of an award that invites emerging Ottawa writers to be recognized for their talent. This contest truly is the perfect legacy for such a generous poet.
The 8th Annual Diana Brebner Prize invites emerging Ottawa writers to be recognized for their talent through a special award for poets who have yet to be published in book form. Entry for two fee for two previously unpublished poems is $14.00 and includes a one-year subscription to Arc. The length of the poem must not exceed 30-lines. Poems must be received by October 1, 2009

Send entries to: Diana Brebner Prize, Arc Poetry Magazine, P.O. Box 81060, Ottawa, ON. K1P 1B1. Or visit for details

The Lampman-Scott Award Reading

We are thrilled to announce that on September 10th the Lampman-Scott Award finalists will be reading their work at Collected Works Bookstore & Coffeebar (1242 Wellington Street West). The list of books under consideration for this year’s award include Noble Gas, Penny Black by David O’Meara, Daughters of Men by Brenda Leifso, Aperture by Blaine Marchand, The Local Cluster by Colin Morton, The Land of Serendipity by Asoka Weerasinghe and The Luskville Reductions by Monty Reid

Wine and cheese will be served in the spirit of celebration for all the work submitted. All are welcome.

The announcement of the winner of this $1,500 prize will take place in conjunction with the Ottawa Book Awards: October 20, 8 p.m. at Library and Archives Canada (395 Wellington St., Ottawa)

Bookmark and Share

Eric Hill is the editor of branta.
Email this author | All posts by Eric Hill

Leave a Reply